Examining Driving with a Suspended License in Tulsa

driving with a suspended licenseSometimes, it is easy to forget that a driver’s license is a privilege, not a right. When a license is suspended or revoked, it is difficult to halt our daily driving habits—but if you continue driving with a suspended license, you could face trouble in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

Reasons for a Suspended License

Your driver’s license may be suspended for a number of reasons by the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety.

  • A DUI conviction or refusal to submit to a blood or breath test results in an automatic suspension for six months to three years.
  • Ten or more points on your license within a five-year period can also result in a suspension. If you have had too many moving violations or speeding tickets, you may have accumulated too many points on your driving record. It then takes time for points to fall off your record.
  • Leaving the scene of an accident will also result in an automatic suspension, as will a drug conviction.
  • Finally, if your car was used in the commission of manslaughter, negligent homicide, anotherfelony offense, or if you are caught stealing gasoline from a pump, your driver’s license will be suspended.

Okla. Stat. tit. 47 § 6-205

If you are driving on a suspended license, you will eventually be caught. At some point, you will be stopped by law enforcement. It may be for a traffic violation or for a broken taillight, but it is inevitable. If you are caught, you will need the help of an experienced criminal defense lawyer in Tulsa.

Penalties for Driving with a Suspended License

The crime is a misdemeanor, and penalties increase with subsequent convictions. You may face:

  • A fine from $100 to $500 on a first conviction.
  • A fine from $200 to $750 on a second conviction.
  • A fine from $300 to $1,000 for subsequent convictions.

The fines are in addition to possible jail time. The court may sentence you to up to a year in jail. Okla. Stat. tit. 47 § 6-303

The fines are higher is you are caught driving on a license suspended as a result of a DUI conviction. In addition to facing up to a year in jail, you could face a fine of $500 to $1000 for a first offense, $1,000 to $2,000 for a second offense, and $2,000 to $5,000 for any subsequent convictions.

If you have been caught driving with a suspended license, hire an experienced Tulsa criminal defense attorney to help you lessen the fine, get a hearing on the suspension, obtain a modified driver’s license for the suspension period, and avoid jail time.

Free Consultation with a Tulsa Criminal Defense Attorney

We are here to help when you need it most. We offer a free consultation with an experienced Tulsa criminal defense attorney.

Call Wirth Law Office – Tulsa at 918-879-1681 or toll free at 1-888-Wirth-Law (1-888-947-8452). You can also submit the question form at the top right of this page.

"Make law easy!"