Tulsa Attorney BlogHow Much Are Court Costs for a Criminal Case in Oklahoma?

Costs Depend on Offenses Committed


Tulsa criminal defense attorneyVideo Transcribed: How much are the court costs for a criminal case in the state of Oklahoma? I’m James Wirth, an attorney in Tulsa. That’s the question that we have.

So if you’ve been charged with a crime, you are found guilty or you plead to that, there’s going to be costs associated with that. There are a few different types of costs. You could get a fine if you are convicted. That’s going to be anywhere within the range of punishment for that particular crime. Additionally, there are also assessments. There’s a court fund assessment of victims of crimes assessment that could be added on there as well. And then there are court costs. So this video is talking about court costs and what those amounts are additionally.

In the state of Oklahoma, it could be in federal court, it could be in municipal court, or you could be in county state court. This relates to Oklahoma state law, which is what you’re going to get if you are in county court prosecuted by the state of Oklahoma.

It’s statutory. You can look these up. It is titled 28, section 153. And what it says is that if you are charged with felony DUI, then you’re looking at a cost assessment of $433 for court costs. If it’s a misdemeanor DUI, the same amount is $433. If it is a felony other than DUI, it’s $103. If it is a misdemeanor other than DUI, then you’re looking at $93. If it’s a misdemeanor traffic violation, other than simple speeding one through 10, it’s $98. And if it’s a simple traffic violation of speeding one through 10 miles per hour over, then it is $77. So those are the amounts that are set out by statute. However, when you add those to potential fines and assessments, it can add up. Those aren’t the only amounts they’re going to require you to pay.

However, whatever is assessed, most of the time you can work out a payment plan. You can request a rule eight hearing if you can’t afford it as well.

If you’ve got questions about any of that, a criminal case in the state of Oklahoma costs, rule eight hearings. You’re going to want to talk to an Oklahoma criminal defense lawyer about your specific circumstances privately and confidentially. To get that scheduled with an attorney at my office, you can go online to makelaweasy.com.

"Make law easy!"